Skip to content ↓

Leadership & Governance

Meet our Senior Leadership Team

Sophie Powell - Executive Headteacher

Karen Baldwin - Acting Deputy Headteacher and Inclusion Leader

Laura Boyer - Assistant Headteacher

Chantelle Miller - Assistant Headteacher

Georgina Dawe - EYFS Lead

Clara Daly – Headteacher

Julie Huggett - Assistant Headteacher and SENDCo 

Yanoula Goldsmith - Assistant Headteacher

Chloe Powell - Assistant Headteacher



Each Compass school has a local school committee composed of a group of volunteers drawn from the community, each bringing a range of skills, expertise and professional experience.

Our Governors provide essential links between the school, parents/carers and the local community. Governors work with staff and parents in an atmosphere of co-operation to provide the best possible framework for educating our children. They are involved in all aspects of school life and meet regularly with leadership teams.

Governors fulfil their responsibilities by:

  • Supporting the school and its ambition by working strategically to develop and implement vision and ethos;
  • Ensuring that the children are receiving the best education and achieve the best outcomes by monitoring the quality of teaching and standards across the school;
  • Making sure the school uses its financial resources effectively and in line with the budget plan;
  • Accounting to all stakeholders for the school’s performance and for the decisions they make.

If you are interested in becoming a Governor at our school or would like to hear more about what the role involves, please email

Chair of Governors – Luke Saunders

Luke Saunders can be contacted via our School Office:

Elected as parent governor in October 2017, Luke was appointed Chair of the Deansfield Local School Committee in February 2021.

Luke is a senior HR and business professional who has spent his career working in the City of London and brings this experience into his role as Chair, helping to oversee the smooth running of school affairs.  As a father to three current and former Deansfield pupils, Luke has a long-standing relationship with the school and a strong understanding of its ethos and valued position in the local community.

Governance Structure

Luke Saunders

Chair of Governors

Bob Love

Co-opted Governor

Janis Blyth

Co-opted Governor

Adam Murphy Co-opted Governor

Clara Daly


Mike Laing

Parent Governor

Chris Streeks

Parent Governor

Sally-Ann White

Parent Governor

Leavers during the academic year: Janis Blyth, Maria Hazelwood

Please see the attachments' section below for detailed governance information, including terms of office, appointment information and any pecuniary interests.

Please click here to access trust wide governance information

Data Protection

The Compass Partnership of Schools' Data Protection Officer is the DPO Centre.
If you have a data protection query, please click here